3 Hydro Delta Units in 3 years...What To Do???
Last Post 01 Feb 2012 10:55 PM by engineer. 31 Replies.
Printer Friendly
Sort:
PrevPrev NextNext
You are not authorized to post a reply.
Page 1 of 212 > >>
Author Messages

--
24 Jul 2008 01:32 AM

As you can see, I’m new to Geothermal related forums, I prefer using forums for my hobbies and interests, not posting problems.  Anyway, sorry for the long post, to the best I can recall, here is my experience over the last three years…Our house is exactly three years old and we have had countless breakdown/performance issues with our Hydro Delta MegaTek Quadra-Therm unit.

1st unit lasted several months and kept loosing coolant due to a cracking line.  When the third solder job didn’t hold up, my HVAC contractor that sold us the system removed it and replaced it with a completely new unit that was updated with redesigned components and other improvements. 

2nd unit lasted around 20 months.  With this unit our electricity usage seemed much higher than planned, to the point that I repeatedly complained to the contractor.  Eventually a temporary electrical meter was installed to monitor the usage.  I was repeatedly told by the HVAC contractor that my electrical usage wasn’t out of line vs other customers with similar units/homes.  I was convinced that something wasn’t right.